School and Public Holidays

Central Otago public holidays and school holiday dates are listed here. As school holidays may vary, for more information on actual school term dates, please check these on the Ministry of Education website. Each province (region) also has a local anniversary holiday which is listed below.

School Holidays Date 2018 date 2019 date 2020 date
Easter School Autumn Holidays Varies
Winter School Holidays Varies
Spring School Holidays Varies
Christmas / Summer School Holidays Varies
 
Public Holidays Date 2018 date 2019 date 2020 date
New Year's Day 1st Jan Mon 1 Jan Tues 1 Jan
Day after New Years Day 2nd Jan Tue 2 Jan Wed 2 Jan
Waitangi Day 6th Feb Tue 6 Feb Wed 6 Feb
Good Friday Varies Fri 30 Mar Fri 19 Apr
Easter Monday Varies Mon 2 Apr Mon 22 Apr
Anzac Day 25th April Wed 25 Apr Thu 25 Apr
Queen's Birthday 1st Mon in June Mon 4 Jun Mon 3 Jun
Labour Day 4th Mon in Oct Mon 22 Oct Mon 28 Oct
Christmas Day 25th Dec Tue 25 Dec Wed 25 Dec
Boxing Day 26th Dec Wed 26 Dec Thu 26 Dec
 
Provincial Holidays Actual Date 2018 date 2019 date 2020 date
Auckland 29th Jan Mon 29 Jan Mon 28 Jan
Taranaki 31st Mar Mon 12 Mar Mon 11 Mar
Hawke's Bay 1st Nov Fri 19 Oct Fri 25 Oct
Wellington 22nd Jan Mon 22 Jan Mon 21 Jan
Marlborough 1st Nov Mon 29 Oct Mon 4 Nov
Nelson 1st Feb Mon 29 Jan Mon 4 Feb
Canterbury (Nth & Central) 16th Dec Fri 16 Nov Fri 15 Nov
South Canterbury 16th Dec Mon 24 Sep Mon 23 Sep
Westland 1st Dec Mon 3 Dec Mon 2 Dec
Otago 23rd Mar Mon 26 Mar Mon 25 Mar
Southland 17th Jan Tue 3 Apr Tue 23 Apr
Chatham Islands 30th Nov Mon 3 Dec Mon 2 Dec